2018 Winners

NOTE: Twenty-eight universities registered for the 2018 SEJC conference. Fifteen universities and 50 students were represented among the onsite competition winners (some universities/students don’t participate in the onsites; they attend for the workshops, panels and Best of the South Awards ceremony).

Championship Teams
Ranked #1: University of Mississippi
Ranked #2: Mississippi State University
Ranked #3 Middle Tennessee State University
Ranked #4: Belmont University
Ranked #5: University of West Alabama

News Writing
1st: Emmy Lamb, Louisiana State University-Shreveport
2nd: Kailey Broussard, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
3rd: Bronte Lebo, Belmont University 

Feature Writing
1st: Larshell Green, Southeastern Louisiana University
2nd: Julissa Lopez, University of Louisiana-Lafayette
3rd: Charissa Ricker, Belmont University

Sports Writing
1st: Russell Vannozzi, Lipscomb University
2nd: Rusty Ellis, Middle Tennessee State University
3rd: Hunter Cloud, Mississippi State University

Arts & Entertainment Writing
1st: Devna Bose, University of Mississippi
2nd: Hayden Goodridge, Middle Tennessee State University
3rd: Andrew Wadovick, Austin Peay State University

Op-Ed Writing
1st: Aailyah Mitchell, Austin Peay State University
2nd: Brinley Hineman, Middle Tennessee State University
3rd: Ashley Hobson, University of Southern Mississippi

Copy Editing
1st: Marissa Gaston, Middle Tennessee State University
2nd: Melissa Kriz, Belmont University
3rd: Leah Cavalier, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Design/Page Layout
1st: Khoa Tran, Georgia State University
2nd: Hayden Binge, University of Mississippi
3rd: Emmalyne Kwasny, Mississippi State University

1st: Anna Rogers, Lipscomb University
2nd: Prajal Prasai, University of Louisiana-Monroe
3rd: LaShayla Lumpkins, University of Louisiana-Lafayette

1st: Marlee Crawford, University of Mississippi
2nd: Morgan Givens, University of West Florida
3rd: Sterling McMichael, Harding University

Radio News Reporting
1st: Jason Saitta, Belmont University
2nd: Shane Wofford, University of Tennessee-Martin
3rd: DeAndria Turner, University of Mississippi

TV News Reporting
1st: Emily Gibbons, Middle Tennessee State University
2nd: Jilliane Moncrief, University of Tennessee-Martin
3rd: Caroline Cathey, Belmont University

TV Anchoring
1st : Katie Inman, Middle Tennessee State University
2nd: Jade Spilka, Lipscomb University
3rd: Matthew Hendley, University of Mississippi

Public Relations
1st: Brooke Boshers, Kait Scott and Emma Bruner, University of Tennessee-Marttin
2nd: Emily Guida and Clifton Carroll, University of Mississippi
3rd: Lauren Sevenish, Brianna Farley and Will Tittle, University of West Alabama

Current Events
1st: Ethel Wmedziwendira, University of Mississippi
2nd: Hiba Tahnir, University of Southern Mississippi
3rd: Brianne Hendricks, University of Louisiana-Lafayette

Media History/Law/Ethics
1st: Holly Seng, University of Tennessee-Martin
2nd: Marisa Morrissette, University of Mississippi
3rd: Devin Phillips, University of West Alabama


Promoting Journalism in the Southeast Region