2017 Onsite Competition Winners

2017 Onsite Competition Winners

NOTE: 32 universities registered for the 2017 SEJC conference.
21 universities were represented among the onsite competition winners (many universities/students don’t participate in the onsites; they attend for the workshops, panels and Best of the South Awards ceremony).


News Writing
1st: Kaitlyn Englund, University of West Florida
2nd: Kailey Broussard, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
3rd: Brooke Robichaux, Southeastern Louisiana University

Feature Writing
1st: Lauren Booker, Georgia State University
2nd: Natalie Ragusa, Southeastern Louisiana University
3rd: Zach Gilchriest, Belmont University

Sports Writing
1st: Rashad Milligan, Georgia State University
2nd: Ashton Nix, Samford University
3rd: Rusty Ellis, Middle Tennessee State University

Arts & Entertainment Writing
Connor Raborn, Southeastern Louisiana University
2nd: Sara Scannell, Belmont University
3rd: Charissa Ricker, Lipscomb University

Op-Ed Writing
1st: Kaitlin O’Dougherty, Mississippi State University
2nd: Andrew Fulmer, University of North Alabama
3rd: Will Ballard, Mississippi College

Copy Editing
1st: Melissa Kriz, Belmont University
2nd: Leah Cavalier, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
3rd: Ethan Steinquest, Austin Peay State University

Design/Page Layout
1st: Khoa Tran, Georgia State University
2nd: Weldon Fultz, University of West Alabama
3rd: Nicholas Davison, Xavier University

1st: Brian Blakely, Louisiana Tech University
2nd: Kate Sullivan, Samford University
3rd: Claudia Young, Arkansas Tech University

1st: Keion Hayes, Grambling State University
2nd: Sarah Dutton, Mississippi State University
3rd: John Morgan, Belmont University

Radio Reporting
1st: Jeremy Rhodes, Southeastern Louisiana University
2nd: Ayesha Abid, Georgia State University
3rd: Crystal Wilson, University of West Alabama

TV Reporting
1st: Hannah Dokkestul, Middle Tennessee State University
2nd: Julius Kizzee, University of Southern Mississippi
3rd place: Courtney Bruno and Amanda Kitch, Southeastern Louisiana University

TV Anchoring
1st : Samantha Kocan, Troy University
2nd: Breana Albizu, Georgia State University
3rd: Katie Inman, Middle Tennessee State University

Public Relations
1st: Kaylee Collier, Kara Craighead and Jaime Gelpi, Southeastern Louisiana University
2nd: Allie Tittle, Brianna Farley and Kaitlynn Beaird, University of West Alabama
3rd: Hanna McKerley, Jodi Sanders and Rennie Lindo, University of West Florida

Current Events
1st: Sam Chandler, Samford University
2nd: Riley Wallace, Belmont University
3rd: Troi Charity, Georgia State University

 Media History/Law/Ethics
1st: Rebecca Arnold, Belmont University
2nd: Amber Harrington, Louisiana Tech University
3rd: Destiny Lattimore, Arkansas State University

Championship Teams
Ranked #1: Georgia State University
Ranked #2: (tie): Belmont University and Southeastern Louisiana University
Ranked #4: Samford University
Ranked #5: (tie): Louisiana Tech University, Middle Tennessee State University, Mississippi State University, University of West Alabama





Promoting Journalism in the Southeast Region