2014 Winners

1st University of Mississippi
2nd (five-way tie)
Belmont University
Louisiana Tech University
Mississippi State University
Southeastern Louisiana University
University of Alabama
3rd (tie)
Arkansas Tech University
Nicholls State University

1st Katherine Burgess Union University
2nd Cory Woodroof Lipscomb University
3rd Will Hadden Belmont University

FEATURE WRITING (13 contestants)
1st Phil McCausland University of Mississippi
2nd Shane Crabtree Arkansas Tech University
3rd Nathan Handley Union University

SPORTSWRITING (13 contestants)
1st Clayton Hurdle Samford University
2nd John Galatas Mississippi State University
3rd Laura Bean Arkansas Tech University

1st Sara Patrick Southeastern Louisiana University
2nd Nick Yacovazzi Belmont University
3rd Chad Sanders University of West Florida

EDITORIAL WRITING (12 contestants)
1st Adam Reeves Arkansas Tech University
2nd Allison East Louisiana Tech University
3rd Kristen Spink Mississippi State University
tie 3rd Haley Chouinard University of West Florida

1st Emily Hubbell Nicholls State University
2nd Heather Thompson Belmont University
3rd Sarah Parrish University of Mississippi

NEWS PHOTOGRAPHY (12 contestants)
1st Phillip Waller University of Mississippi
2nd Deepanjan Mukopadhyay Louisiana Tech University
3rd Erin Turner Lipscomb University

SPORTS PHOTOGRAPHY (10 contestants)
1st Thomas Graning University of Mississippi
2nd Christopher Martin Southeastern Louisiana University
3rd Autumn Allison Belmont University

PAGE LAYOUT (13 contestants)
1st Kali Daniel University of North Alabama
2nd Ignacio Murillo University of Mississippi
3rd Anna Wolfe Mississippi State University

RADIO NEWS REPORTING (6 contestants)
1st Matt Callahan Nicholls State University
2nd Santiago Rodriguez Southeastern Louisiana University
3rd Bethany Gallimore Arkansas State University

1st Alexandra Meachum LSU-Shreveport
2nd Sudu Upadhyay University of Mississippi
3rd Callie Murphy University of West Alabama

MEDIA LAW—no 3rd place (4 contestants)
1st Christopher Edmonds University of Alabama
2nd John Sadler Louisiana Tech University
tie 2nd Kyrsten Turner Lipscomb University

MEDIA ETHICS (7 contestants or teams)
1st Kaitlyn Byrne Mississippi State University
2nd Deanne Winslett University of Alabama
3rd Raven Schley & Anna Yang Georgia State University

CURRENT EVENTS (13 contestants)
1st Erin Timmons University of West Florida
2nd Andy McWhorter University of Alabama
3rd Courtney Martinez Belmont University

1st Hayley Taylor, Caleb Walters, & Shelby Campbell
University of West Alabama
2nd Caty Cambron, Olivia Rearick & Katie Davenport
University of Mississippi
3rd Kelsy Kershaw & Ian Edwards
Louisiana Tech University

Promoting Journalism in the Southeast Region